回到頂部

Transition Networks 由 Lantronix, Inc. 全資擁有。

Transition Networks

使用以太網供電改善市政安全

網絡邊緣的挑戰

過渡網絡客戶希望出於安全和監視目的而部署室外市政網絡攝像機系統,對使用以太網供電(PoE)技術和光纖到銅纜媒體轉換器互連並為高速,高分辨率供電提供了興趣彩色攝像機安裝在交通交叉路口的照明設備(電氣燈具)上(見圖1)。在與Transition Networks進行設計討論期間,發現了有關安裝地點的其他兩個獨特因素:每個燈桿僅提供480 VAC,每個室外安裝都位於具有電源的建築物的400英尺範圍內。這些發現可能給該項目帶來了重大挑戰。但是,該客戶選擇的Transition Networks PoE解決方案提供了解決所有問題所需的功能。

 

PoE功能和優勢

  • 千兆PoE用於高速網絡
  • 完全符合全系統IEEE 802.3af標準
  • 靈活的外部電源可提供創新的解決方案
  • 受電設備因光纖數據丟失而重置
  • 可選的冗餘SFP光纖上行鏈路端口,可滿足高可用性要求
  • 終身保修
  • Transition Networks提供了廣泛的應用經驗,知識和廣泛的產品組合

 

最佳解決方案

該項目的目標是確保具有成本效益的,無錯誤的整體系統解決方案。客戶通過與Transition Networks緊密合作找到了解決該挑戰的方法。

圖1

首先,選擇了千兆速度媒體轉換器以與鏈路本地端上的現有Cisco Systems交換機兼容,並為未來的增長做好準備。過渡網絡 SGPOE媒體轉換器 擔當了千兆位銅到光纖轉換的關鍵角色,同時還使用PoE技術向銅UTP電纜注入了電力。該轉換器還提供了靈活的選項,例如用於安全應用中的高可用性的冗余光纖上行鏈路,以及通過外部直流電源進行的操作。

其次,考慮了城市的氣候,以確定是否需要擴展溫度等級的產品或“硬化”產品來適應環境中的季節性或極端溫度。在這種情況下,極端溫度不是典型的情況,因此硬化產品不是必需的。

第三,每個燈桿僅提供480 VAC,這意味著仍需要低壓方式為SGPOE供電。從與城市工程師的討論中發現,每個室外裝置距離帶有電源的建築物不到400英尺。計劃是使用銅/光纖混合地下電纜同時傳輸千兆速度光纖數據信號,並將低壓直流電源硬連線到SGPOE。

像SGPOE這樣的PoE電源設備(PSE)通常設計為通過交流線電壓或48VDC供電。對於SGPOE,其輸入電壓為48VDC,波動性僅為2%。經過分析,達成共識,在距離燈具400英尺的建築物中安裝了Transition Networks 25080工業電源。該電源將建築物中的480 VAC電源轉換為SGPOE媒體轉換器所需的48 VDC。它還允許調整輸出電壓,以便SGPOE可以接收所需的48VDC,同時考慮了400英尺電源電纜上的電壓線損。

最後,為確保與高速光纖鏈路上的Cisco交換機兼容,Transition Networks的 TN-GLC-LH-SM 思科兼容的千兆小型可插拔收發器模塊被選作媒體轉換器接口。

 

概括

如本示例所示,通常存在系統級設計問題,其範圍超出了對媒體轉換器的簡單選擇。在互連應用中應考慮這些問題。如果安裝環境需要使用工業或硬化以太網設備來支持更寬的工作溫度範圍,那麼Transition Networks的綜合產品也將滿足這一需求。與可以向設計團隊提供廣泛知識和經驗的解決方案提供商合作,可以為面臨網絡邊緣技術部署的客戶帶來巨大的價值。有關Transition Networks PoE解決方案的更多信息,請訪問 transition.com.

 

多年來,我已經在客戶安裝中使用Transition Networks的產品。我一直發現他們的產品,客戶服務,銷售和技術支持是一流的。我什至不會考慮使用其他品牌。

IT解決方案提供商的高級項目經理

關閉

向分銷商索取報價

我們的產品通過我們的全球合作夥伴網絡出售。請在下面索取報價,我們的網絡專家將協助報價流程,以確保您與合適的合作夥伴一起獲得所需的產品和解決方案。

對於超過$2,000的大型項目,我們可以提供特別折扣價
您要處理報價的分銷商或轉銷商的名稱。要了解有關您所在地區的合作夥伴的更多信息,請查看我們的 如何購買頁面

該產品已成功添加到您的報價中。

點擊此處查看您的報價。

您的報價已成功創建!

點擊此處查看您的報價。

編輯產品 - 編輯詳細資料

您的報價還沒有任何產品。

編輯產品 - 編輯詳細資料

產品 數量

您的報價還沒有任何產品。

您的報價請求已成功提交。

您將很快收到一封確認電子郵件,以方便報價過程。如果您想保存請求的報價, 登錄 或者 創建一個帳戶.

錯誤

處理您的報價時出錯。請刷新頁面,然後重試。

要求報價...
諮詢專家

Transition Networks

Using Power-over-Ethernet to Improve Municipal Safety

Challenges at the Network Edge

A Transition Networks customer looking to deploy an outdoor municipal network camera system for security and surveillance purposes was interested in using Power-over-Ethernet (PoE) technology and fiber-to-copper media converters to interconnect and power the high speed, high-resolution color cameras installed on luminaires (electrical light fixtures) at traffic intersections (see Figure 1). During design discussions with Transition Networks, two other unique factors about the installation site were uncovered: only 480VAC was available at each light pole, and each of the outdoor installations was located within 400 feet of a building with a power source. These discoveries could have presented a major challenge for the project. However, the Transition Networks PoE solution selected by this customer provided the features required to resolve all issues.

 

PoE Features & Benefits

  • Gigabit PoE for higher speed networks
  • Full system-wide IEEE 802.3af compliance
  • Flexible external power for creative solution delivery
  • Powered Device Reset on fiber data loss
  • Optional redundant SFP fiber uplink ports for high availability requirements
  • Lifetime Warranty
  • Extensive application experience, knowledge and broad product portfolio offered by Transition Networks

 

The Optimum Solution

The goal for the project was to ensure a cost-effective, error-free total system solution. The customer found the answer to this challenge by working closely with Transition Networks.

Figure 1

First, a Gigabit speed media converter was selected for compatibility with existing Cisco Systems switches at the local end of the link, as well as to prepare the network for future growth. The Transition Networks SGPOE media converter filled the critical role of Gigabit copper-to-fiber conversion, while also injecting power onto the copper UTP cable using PoE technology. This converter also offered flexible options, such as redundant fiber up-links for high availability in security applications, and operation via an external DC power source.

Second, consideration was given to the climate of the city to determine whether extended temperature-rated or “hardened” products were necessary to accommodate seasonal or extreme temperatures in the environment. In this case, temperature extremes were not typical, so hardened products were not essential.

Third, only 480VAC was available at each light pole, which meant that a low-voltage way to power the SGPOE was still needed. From discussions with city engineers it was discovered that each outdoor installation was less than 400 feet from a building with a power source. The plan was to use hybrid copper/fiber underground cable to simultaneously carry Gigabit speed fiber optic data signals and to hardwire low-voltage DC power to the SGPOE.

PoE power sourcing equipment (PSE), like the SGPOE, is generally designed to be powered by either AC line voltage or 48VDC. In the case of the SGPOE, its input voltage is 48VDC with only a 2% tolerance for volatility. After some analysis, a consensus was reached to place a Transition Networks 25080 industrial power supply in the buildings that were located 400 feet away from the luminaires. This power supply converts the 480VAC power in the building to the 48VDC needed by the SGPOE media converter. It also allows for the adjustment of the output voltage so the SGPOE can receive the 48VDC it needs while accounting for the voltage line loss experienced over the 400 feet of power cable.

Finally, to ensure compatibility with the Cisco switches over the high-speed fiber links, Transition Networks’ TN-GLC-LH-SM Cisco-compatible Gigabit Small Form Factor Pluggable transceiver modules were chosen as the media converter interface.

 

Summary

As this example illustrates, there are often system-level design issues that extend beyond simple selection of a media converter. These issues should be considered in interconnectivity applications. If the installation environment had required use of industrial or hardened Ethernet devices to support a wider operating temperature range, the comprehensive product offering from Transition Networks’ would have met that need as well. Working with a solutions provider that can offer its breadth of knowledge and experience to the design team adds tremendous value to customers facing network edge technology deployments. For more information about Transition Networks’ PoE solutions, visit transition.com.

 

I’ve used Transition Networks’ products in my customer installations for years. I’ve always found their products, customer service, sales, and tech support to be top-notch. I wouldn’t even consider using another brand.

Senior Project Manager at IT Solutions Provider