回到顶部

Transition Networks 由 Lantronix, Inc. 全资拥有。

Transition Networks

将分组网络带到边缘– MPLS-TP

运营商网络正在转向基于分组的更灵活的网络技术,以便更有效地使用其网络基础结构。电信级以太网和MPLS是此过渡的两种领先技术,运营商通常会同时支持两种网络类型,或者在推出新服务并从旧技术升级网络时必须在两者之间做出选择。

Transition Networks最近推出了S3290 CE 2.0 NID,这是市场上最紧凑的NID,也是第一个同时提供完整的电信级以太网2.0服务和MPLS-TP的产品,从而扩展了其受管网络接口设备(NIDS)系列。

新的S3290托管NID是Transition Networks全面的运营商以太网2.0 / MPLS产品系列的一部分,该系列产品旨在帮助服务提供商通过高级边缘和访问网络提供动态服务。该产品系列包括访问交换机和NID,并辅以Converge服务编排软件,该软件为动态MPLS-TP和运营商以太网2.0服务提供简化的配置,以及用于与第三方SDN / NFV平台接口的开放式REST API。

“网络边缘对于运营商而言,管理成本最高,尤其是在网络边缘 提供服务的时间。我们设计的S3290 NID具有运营商期望的性能 来自Transition Networks,并扩展了可管理性功能以简化配置和 灵活性。对于核心已经具有MPLS的运营商,MPLS-TP允许相同的配置 标签路径交换和他们今天习惯使用的相同的MPLS OAM工具。”

“将MPLS-TP添加到我们的CE 2.0中,使运营商可以选择使用同一服务中的一项或全部这些服务。 设备。我们相信服务提供商需要一个灵活的边缘设备,以扩展其MPLS核心网络。 使用MPLS-TP和/或(如果需要完整的运营商以太网2.0服务)到客户房屋的方式, S3290 NID支持任何和所有服务,而无需昂贵的“叉车式”边缘网络系统更换。”

–过渡网络产品管理总监Tony LeFebvre

MPLS和MPLS-TP

MPLS和MPLS-TP是兼容的,并且可以与标签交换路径(LSP)设置,链接附件和隧道一起使用。 MPLS主要用于核心,而MPLSTP主要用于接入网络。互联网工程任务组(IETF)和国际电信联盟(ITU-T)共同努力开发MPLS-TP标准。

MPLS-TP是MPLS的子集(或配置文件),旨在在第二层的基于分组的光传输网络中使用。 MPLS-TP没有实现某些在第2层网络中不必要的第3层IP MPLS功能,例如本机IP线速转发和倒数第二跳弹出(PHP)。 MPLS-TP还不需要进行MAC学习,从而减少了遍历网络边缘的MAC地址的数量。

或者,MPLS-TP支持双向LSP,其主路径和备用路径类似于SONET和SDH,OAM监视,保护交换和PWE3伪线体系结构,从而支持基于传统TDM的网络。 MPLS-TP支持基于广泛部署的MPLS协议的面向连接的点对点和点对多点LSP光分组传输,并具有传输级性能和管理操作,用于与IP / MPLS兼容的缺陷警报指示。

 

何时使用运营商级以太网或MPLS-TP

S3290 NID提供了完整的电信级以太网CE 2.0服务,并且是最早支持MPLS-TP的“边缘” NID设备之一。最佳使用MPLS-TP还是运营商以太网取决于您现有的网络和您要解决的问题。

选择NID时要考虑的重要项目包括服务质量,性能管理,故障管理,定时,保护,已部署的现有网络技术和成本(资本支出和运营支出)。 MPLS-TP非常适合传输ATM,TDM或SONET。它是确定性/面向连接的协议。它允许使用主链路和备用链路交换标签,并且不依赖于IP源/目标地址。以下各节讨论了每种技术在各种功能和成本方面的利弊。

服务质量

以太网具有更强的服务质量(QoS),支持每个数据包中的PCP字段以进行优先级标记以及带有丢弃资格(DEI)标记的S标记以太网。城域以太网论坛还定义了令牌桶算法。 MPLS-TP流量类别支持Diffserv优先级,但是MPLS-TP不支持令牌存储算法。

性能监控

以太网和MPLS-TP都具有性能监视功能。以太网具有Y.1731的全面功能。 MPLS-TP支持RFC 6374,这是用于测量MPLS网络中的数据包丢失,延迟和吞吐量的一系列过程,RFC 6375将其应用于MPLS-TP网络。 Y.1731是部署更广泛的技术。

过错

具有唯一源地址的以太网允许追溯功能,并且与Y.1731和EFM一起提供全面的故障管理功能。 MPLS-TP使用双向转发检测进行连续性检查(BFD for CC),并使用LSP Ping进行故障诊断。 Y.1731具有更多功能,并且已广泛部署。

定时

以太网支持定时协议(SyncE,IEEE 1588),这些协议对于某些应用(例如移动回程)至关重要。用于MPLS-TP的IEEE 1588目前正在开发中。迄今为止,具有SyncE或IEEE 1588的以太网已最广泛地部署在与时序相关的应用中。

保护

以太网和MPLS-TP均支持保护倒换。以太网通过G.8031和G.8032支持线性和环形保护。 RFC 6378通过线性保护提供MPLS-TP保护。 MPLS-TP环保护仍处于起步阶段,它基于RFC 6372并将RFC 6378应用于单环拓扑。以太网的G.8031和G.8032部署最广泛。

交通

如果您正在考虑多服务传输,则MPLS-TP已针对多服务,多协议(ATM,帧中继,以太网,IP)传输进行了优化。以太网不直接承载ATM或帧中继。

OpEx注意事项包括:

  • OSS系统集成
  • 人员培训
  • 网络测试和认证操作
  • 网络服务(FCAPS)
  • 网络升级和补丁
  • 网元管理设备和软件

资本支出注意事项

以太网得到了更广泛的部署,基于以太网的解决方案受益于规模经济,从而降低了成本。 MPLS技术通常以低得多的速率部署,因此通常更昂贵。

MPLS网络的路径转发

MPLS-TP通过支持传统/要求的传输网络功能(如OAM,故障管理,性能管理,自动保护交换(APS)和下一代网络中的环形拓扑),为服务提供商提供了一条无需花费完整IP控制平面成本的前进之路。建筑学。根据服务提供商提供的要求进行的设计可确保MPLS-TP与运营商的当前流程和规程保持一致,从而使他们能够利用相似且熟悉的网络配置工具。

MPLS-TP允许运营商使用单一的分组交换技术来设计和实现可预测的,面向连接的网络,从而降低传输网络的复杂性,并实现更具可扩展性,更简单和更具弹性的网络设计,从而使运营商能够实现固有的CAPEX和OPEX节省。 S3290 NID通过简单易用的边缘设备为运营商提供了MPLS的熟悉性以及运营商级以太网的优势。

MPLS网络的路径转发

紧凑的六端口S3290 NID比竞争性设备小多达50%,用于空间有限的环境。紧凑型设备是无风扇的,需要更少的机架空间和功率,并且支持先进的运营商以太网2.0和多协议标签交换-传输配置文件(MPLS-TP)。 S3290 NID同时支持Y.1564和RFC 2544服务激活测试,可用作流量生成器以非侵入式测试EVC和/或VLAN流量,或用作收集器以接收流量并提供全面的报告/结果。每个测试,或作为从外部测试设备上/下循环的反射器。

作为Transition Networks运营商以太网2.0认证产品系列的一部分,S3290 NID为运营商提供了在MPLS-TP或运营商以太网网络中部署NID的灵活性。 S3290 NID由Transition Networks设计为全功能,温度硬化,小巧的边缘解决方案,可让运营商在各种网络场景中进行部署,同时特别关注成本和简便性。

连接灵活性

有两种S3290 NID型号:具有两个10/100/1000 RJ45铜端口和四个用于光纤连接的100/1000 SFP端口的S3290-24,以及具有三个RJ45端口和两个SFP端口的S3290-42。两种型号均可支持交流或直流电源。此外,它们均采用无风扇设计,额定工作温度高达65摄氏度/ 150华氏度。

应用程序的融合服务编排套件,允许在几分钟内提供服务

NID由Converge服务编排软件支持,该软件还支持代表性状态传输(REST)应用程序编程接口(API),从而可以交付可在整个Transition Networks运营商以太网产品系列中使用的自定义服务供应和部署应用程序。轻松部署新服务。

利用Converge的平板电脑应用程序可以简化预配和带宽分配,服务提供商或客户可以用来创建,预配和保护新服务。例如,动态带宽分配应用程序可用于“即时”更改任何服务的带宽,而不会中断服务。这些应用程序是过渡网络NID和访问交换机系列的补充,可提供强大的访问和客户前提解决方案组合,从而提高服务创建敏捷性。使用这些应用创建或更改服务就像选择终端设备,检查特定的服务参数并启用该服务一样容易。

可用性

带有Converge EMS的S3290 NID现在可通过Transition Networks及其代理商在全球范围内使用。

关于Transition Networks,Inc.

Transition Networks,Inc.是行业领先者,拥有超过25年的设计光纤集成产品的经验,这些产品可为当今的网络提供安全性和可靠性,同时为将来的未来作证明。 Transition Networks提供对多种协议,任何接口和多种硬件平台的支持,包括强化以太网,运营商以太网,CWDM,1G / 10G以太网,SFP,PoE和PoE +,过渡网络为您提供了通过光纤可靠地交付和管理流量的能力在任何数据网络中–在任何应用程序中–在任何环境中。

总部位于明尼阿波利斯的Transition Networks专门通过50个国家/地区的经销商网络分发基于硬件的连接解决方案。 Transition Networks是上市公司Communications Systems,Inc.(NASDAQ-GM:JCS)的全资子公司。

有关过渡网络的更多信息,请访问transition.com。

 

多年来,我已经在客户安装中使用Transition Networks的产品。我一直发现他们的产品,客户服务,销售和技术支持是一流的。我什至不会考虑使用其他品牌。

IT解决方案提供商的高级项目经理

关闭

向分销商索取报价

我们的产品通过我们的全球合作伙伴网络出售。请在下面索取报价,我们的网络专家将协助报价流程,以确保您与合适的合作伙伴一起获得所需的产品和解决方案。

对于超过$2,000的大型项目,我们可以提供特别折扣价
您要处理报价的分销商或转销商的名称。要了解有关您所在地区的合作伙伴的更多信息,请查看我们的 如何购买页面

该产品已成功添加到您的报价中。

点击此处查看您的报价。

您的报价已成功创建!

点击此处查看您的报价。

编辑产品 - 编辑详细资料

您的报价还没有任何产品。

编辑产品 - 编辑详细资料

产品 数量

您的报价还没有任何产品。

您的报价请求已成功提交。

您将很快收到一封确认电子邮件,以方便报价过程。如果您想保存请求的报价, 登录 或者 创建一个帐户.

错误

处理您的报价时出错。请刷新页面,然后重试。

要求报价...
咨询专家

Transition Networks

Taking Packet Networks to the Edge – MPLS-TP

Carrier networks are moving to more flexible packet-based network technologies in order to more efficiently use their network infrastructure. Carrier Ethernet and MPLS are the two leading technologies for this transition and often carriers support both network types or have to make a choice between the two as they roll out new services and upgrade networks from older technologies.

Transition Networks recently expanded its family of managed network interface devices (NIDS) with the debut of the S3290 CE 2.0 NID, the most compact NID on the market and the first one to provide both full Carrier Ethernet 2.0 services and MPLS-TP as well.

The new S3290 managed NIDs are part of Transition Networks’ comprehensive Carrier Ethernet 2.0 / MPLS product family that has been designed to help service providers deliver dynamic services through advanced edge and access networks. The product family includes both access switches and NIDs and is complemented by Converge service orchestration software that provides simplified provisioning for dynamic MPLS-TP and Carrier Ethernet 2.0 services along with open REST APIs for interfacing to 3rd party SDN/NFV platforms.

“The edge of the network is the most costly for carriers to manage, especially when it comes time to provision services. We designed the S3290 NID with the performance that carriers expect from Transition Networks, and expanded the manageability features to simplify provisioning and flexibility. For the operator that already has MPLS in the core, MPLS-TP allows the same provisioning of label path switching and the same MPLS OAM tools that they are accustomed to using today.”

“Adding MPLS-TP to our CE 2.0 offers the operator a choice to use one or all of these services from the same device. We believe service providers want a flexible edge device that can extend their MPLS core network all the way to the customer premise using MPLS-TP and/or, if full Carrier Ethernet 2.0 services are needed, the S3290 NID supports any and all services without a costly ‘fork-lift’ replacement of edge network systems.”

– Tony LeFebvre, Director of Product Management for Transition Networks

MPLS and MPLS-TP

MPLS and MPLS-TP are compatible and interoperate together with label switch path (LSP) provisioning, link attachments and, tunneling. MPLS is used mainly in the core, while MPLSTP is primarily used in the access network. Development of the standards for MPLS-TP has been a joint effort by the Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF) and the International Telecommunications Union (ITU-T).

MPLS-TP is a subset (or profile) of MPLS that was designed for use in packet-based optical transport networks at layer two. MPLS-TP does not implement some layer 3 IP MPLS features that are unnecessary in a layer 2 network, for example native IP line-rate forwarding and Penultimate Hop Popping (PHP). MPLS-TP also requires no MAC learning, which reduces the quantity of MAC addresses traversing the network edge.

Alternatively, MPLS-TP supports bi-directional LSPs, with main and back-up paths similar to SONET and SDH, OAM monitoring, protection switching and PWE3 pseudo wire architectures that enable legacy TDM-based networks to be supported. MPLS-TP enables connectionoriented point-to-point and point-to-multipoint LSPs optical packet transport based on widely deployed MPLS protocols with transport-grade performance and management operation for defect-alarm indications compatible with IP/MPLS.

 

When to Use Carrier Ethernet or MPLS-TP

The S3290 NID provides full Carrier Ethernet CE 2.0 services and is one of the first known “edge” NID devices to support MPLS-TP as well. Whether it is best to utilize MPLS-TP or Carrier Ethernet depends on your existing network and the problem you are trying to solve.

Important items to consider when selecting a NID include quality of service, performance management, fault management, timing, protection, existing network technologies deployed, and cost (both CapEx and OpEx). MPLS-TP is ideally suited to transport ATM, TDM, or SONET. It is a deterministic/connection-oriented protocol. It allows label switching with primary and back-up links, and is not dependent on IP source/destination addresses. The sections below discuss the pros and cons of each technology on a variety of capabilities and in terms of cost.

Quality of Service

Ethernet has stronger quality of service (QoS) supporting a PCP field in each packet for prioritization marking as well as S-tagged Ethernet with discard eligibility (DEI) marking. The Metro Ethernet Forum has also defined a token bucket algorithm. MPLS-TP traffic class enables support for Diffserv prioritization but MPLS-TP does not support a token bucketing algorithm.

Performance Monitoring

Both Ethernet and MPLS-TP have performance monitoring functions. Ethernet has comprehensive functionality with Y.1731. MPLS-TP supports RFC 6374, which is a series of procedures for the measurement of packet loss, delay, and throughput in an MPLS network, RFC 6375 applies this to an MPLS-TP network. Y.1731 is the more widely deployed technology.

Fault

Ethernet with a unique source address allows trace back functionality and along with Y.1731 and EFM provide comprehensive fault management functionality. MPLS-TP uses bidirectional forwarding detection for continuity check (BFD for CC) and LSP ping for fault diagnosis. Y.1731 is more full featured and widely deployed.

Timing

Ethernet supports timing protocols (SyncE, IEEE 1588) that are crucial to some applications such as mobile backhaul. IEEE 1588 for MPLS-TP is currently in the works. To date, Ethernet with either SyncE or IEEE 1588 is the most widely deployed for timing dependent applications.

Protection

Both Ethernet and MPLS-TP support protection switching. Ethernet supports linear and ring protection via G.8031 and G.8032. MPLS-TP protection is provided via RFC 6378 for linear protection. MPLS-TP ring protection is still in its infancy and is based on RFC 6372 and applying RFC 6378 for single ring topologies. G.8031 and G.8032 for Ethernet are the most extensively deployed.

Traffic

If you’re looking at a multi-service transport, MPLS-TP is optimized for multi-service, multiprotocol (ATM, frame relay, Ethernet, IP) transport. Ethernet does not directly carry ATM or frame relay.

OpEx Considerations include:

  • OSS System Integration
  • Personnel training
  • Network testing and certification operations
  • Network Care (FCAPS)
  • Network upgrades and patches
  • Network elements management equipment and software

CapEx Considerations

Ethernet is more widely deployed and Ethernet-based solutions benefit from economies of scale driving the cost down. MPLS technologies in general are deployed at a much lower rate and therefore typically more expensive.

The Path Forward for MPLS Networks

MPLS-TP provides service providers with a path forward without the cost of full IP control planes and by supporting traditional/required transport network functionalities like OAM, fault management, performance management, automatic protection switching (APS), and ring topologies in next generation network architecture. The design, based on requirements provided by service providers, ensures that MPLS-TP aligns with the carrier’s current processes and procedures allowing them to utilize similar and familiar network configuration tools.

MPLS-TP allows carriers to design and implement predictable, connection-oriented networks utilizing a single packet switching technology resulting in reduced transport network complexity and a more scalable, simpler, and resilient network design allowing carriers to realize the inherent CAPEX and OPEX savings. The S3290 NID provides operators with the familiarity of MPLS and the benefits of carrier Ethernet in a simple to use edge device.

The Path Forward for MPLS Networks

The compact, six-port S3290 NIDs are up to 50 percent smaller than competing devices for use in environments where space is at a premium. The compact devices are fan-less requiring less rack space and power, and they support advanced Carrier Ethernet 2.0 and multiprotocol label switching-transport profile (MPLS-TP). Supporting both Y.1564 and RFC 2544 service activation testing, the S3290 NID can be used as a traffic generator to non-intrusively test EVCs and/ or VLAN traffic flows, or as a collector to receive the traffic flows and provide comprehensive reporting/results of each test or, as a reflector to be looped up/down from an external test set.

As part of Transition Networks portfolio of Carrier Ethernet 2.0 certified products, the S3290 NID provides carriers with the flexibility of deploying the NID in either their MPLS-TP or Carrier Ethernet networks. The S3290 NID was designed by Transition Networks as a full featured, temperature hardened, small form factor, edge solution to allow carriers to deploy in a variety of networking scenarios while paying particular attention to cost and simplicity.

Connection Flexibility

There are two S3290 NID models: the S3290-24 with two 10/100/1000 RJ45 copper ports and four 100/1000 SFP ports for fiber-optic connectivity, and the S3290-42, which features four RJ45 ports and two SFP ports. Both models are available to support either AC or DC power. In addition, they both feature a fan-less design and are rated for operation at up to 65 degrees Celsius / 150 degrees Fahrenheit.

Converge Service Orchestration Suite of Apps Allow Provisioning of Services in Minutes

The NID is supported by Converge services orchestration software that also supports representational state transfer (REST) application programming interfaces (API) that make it possible to deliver customized service provisioning and deployment apps that can be used across the entire Transition Networks carrier Ethernet product family to easily deploy new services.

Provisioning and bandwidth allocation is simplified with Converge’s tablet computer apps that service providers – or customer – can use to create, provision and protect a new service. For example, the Dynamic Bandwidth Allocation App can be used to change bandwidth on any service “on the-fly” without service disruption. The apps complement the family of Transition Networks NIDs and access switches to offer a robust portfolio of access and customer premise solutions that deliver improved service creation agility. Creating or changing a service using the apps is as easy as selecting the end devices, checking off specific service parameters and making the service live.

Availability

The S3290 NID with Converge EMS is now available worldwide through Transition Networks and its resellers.

About Transition Networks, Inc.

Transition Networks, Inc. is an industry leader with over 25 years of experience designing fiber integration products that deliver the security and reliability for today’s networks while future proofing for tomorrow. Offering support for multiple protocols, any interface, and a multitude of hardware platforms, including Hardened Ethernet, Carrier Ethernet, CWDM, 1G/10G Ethernet, SFPs, PoE and PoE+, Transition Networks gives you the power to deliver and manage traffic reliably over fiber in any data network – in any application – in any environment.

Based in Minneapolis, Transition Networks distributes hardware-based connectivity solutions exclusively through a network of resellers in 50 countries. Transition Networks is a wholly owned subsidiary of Communications Systems, Inc., a publicly traded company (NASDAQ-GM: JCS).

For more information about Transition Networks, please visit www.transition.com.

 

I’ve used Transition Networks’ products in my customer installations for years. I’ve always found their products, customer service, sales, and tech support to be top-notch. I wouldn’t even consider using another brand.

Senior Project Manager at IT Solutions Provider