回到顶部

Transition Networks

电力变电站

市场说明

为住宅和商业用途提供可靠电力的能力取决于由发电设施,传输电缆,变电站和本地变压器组成的广阔基础设施。这种基础设施有助于将电力从发电设施转移到消费者。

发电

多年前,利用多种不同的发电技术在大型设施中进行发电。发电厂通常位于主要河流沿岸,以利用流水的力量旋转水轮机发电。在没有主要河流的地方,发电厂使用煤炭或天然气来产生蒸汽,从而使蒸汽轮机旋转以发电。核技术的进步催生了发电厂,这些发电厂使用核材料制造蒸汽来旋转蒸汽轮机。

在对环境影响较小的可再生能源方面,最近的发展创造了各种各样的能源生产来源,包括风力发电场,太阳能发电场,甚至住宅太阳能系统。尽管这种发电来源的多样性有助于减少我们对大型发电设施的依赖,但它已极大地影响了配电基础设施。

电力分配

尽管我们已经习惯于每年365天,每天24小时都可以使用稳定的电源,但是需要正确的技术来满足这一期望。随着当今所有可用的发电资源的出现,电源线平衡已成为一个真正的挑战。需要协调发电源,以便产生足够的电力以满足需求,但不会产生盈余。风能和太阳能等较新的发电技术会根据环境条件提供可变数量的电力。例如,在晴天或刮风的日子里,可再生能源可产生丰富的能源,而在阴天,静止的日子或夜晚则不会产生大量的能源。现在必须根据可再生能源产生的功率来调整传统可预测能源产生的输出。

一旦电力进入电力系统,即“并网”,则面临的挑战便是如何将其从发电源转移到用户手中。发电产生非常高的电压功率,可以远距离传输。为此,使用带有高压电线的高塔。由于这些电缆承载的功率很大,因此控制每条电缆承载的功率以避免电缆故障很重要。平衡多条电缆上的电源以分散电源负载至关重要。

电力变电站

变电站是发电源和用户之间的设施。变电站用于转换电力并平衡多个位置的电力分配。变电站将电力从传输电压转换为可用电压。可用电压因应用而异。例如,金属铸造厂需要高压才能为大型金属加工炉供电。制造公司需要适度的电压来为制造设备供电。居民用户需要相对较低的电压。变电站提供了这些降压功能,并增加了电源线的数量,从而为大量客户提供了连接。

一些客户要求更高级别的电源稳定性。对于像医院这样的关键服务提供商来说,电源的可靠性至关重要。发生电源故障时,变电站可以切换到备用电源,以确保医院继续接收不间断电源。这要求在多个变电站同时进行切换,以断开一个电源并连接另一个电源。

变电站还用于平衡从各种发电源提供给电网的电力。当太阳能和风能等可再生能源的生产力很高时,水,煤和核能等多种能源的发电量就会减少。要做到这一点,需要在许多变电站进行协调转换,以使用户继续获得稳定的不间断电源。因此,变电站之间的通信必须是瞬时的。各种类型的通信网络都用于此目的,由于IP网络具有提供冗余通信路径的能力,非常快的通信速度,警报和通知以及高度的安全性,因此日益流行。

 

市场需求

电力行业需要联网设备,这些设备必须能够在极端环境下运行,提供最新技术并提供行业所需的可靠性,事件通知和安全性。已经针对电力公用事业专门开发了一些标准,包括IEC 61850和IEEE1613。这些标准为设备操作环境,通信标准和安全性提供了指南。美国政府还制定了法规,为公用事业行业中的设备和通信网络的实施提供了更加统一的准则。这些NERC / CIP法规旨在提高美国电力基础设施的互操作性,可靠性和安全性。

 

市场产品

随着需求的快速变化,电力公司正在向IP网络迁移以满足其通信需求。 IP网络和光纤技术的结合提供了扩展通讯网络和监视变电站与用户之间设备的能力。通过监视设备并提供预测性故障分析,此功能可提高电网的可靠性。

设备必须能够承受恶劣的变电站环境,包括极端温度,高水平的电磁干扰,功率波动以及在某些情况下的振动。使用光纤电缆进行通信的能力确保了对电磁干扰的抵抗力,并提供了将变电站和其他远程设备互连所需的通信距离。

公用事业公司需要诸如IEEE 1588(精确时间协议)和IEC 62439(媒体冗余协议)之类的标准。 PTP提供了非常准确的通信时间戳,以确保事件的精确排序以及过去事件的准确报告和评估。 NERC / CIP法规的要素之一是能够提供事件的准确记录。 MRP是用于在关键任务设备之间提供冗余网络连接的标准技术。由于电力公司使用来自众多供应商的设备,因此非专有网络冗余至关重要。

 

产品应用

虽然一个变电站的设备数量和类型可能有所不同,但基本相同 网络设备 元素是必需的。某些设备可能会根据变电站中的电源控制设备而有所不同。较旧的设备可能具有基于串行的数据通信,而较新的设备可能会具有网络连接。

对于基于串行的通信设备,通常选择串行设备服务器。串行设备服务器使用串行电缆连接到电源控制设备。可以将串行设备服务器配置为与电源控制设备的串行通信协议匹配。串行设备服务器上的网络连接可以连接到交换机或服务器。许多公用事业公司都希望此网络连接为光纤连接,因为通信可能会受到电磁干扰的干扰。

这些设备的安全性也很关键,因此具有加密功能的串行设备服务器是首选。串行通信和网络通信都需要加密。一些串行设备服务器,例如 Transition Networks的SDS系列,还具有同时与多台服务器通信的能力,在服务器发生故障时提供冗余。串行设备服务器用于通过串行接口自动化旧式电力设备。正在设计具有网络端口的较新设备,这些端口允许直接连接到本地网络进行通信。

虽然可能存在一些铜质网络连接,但是变电站内的大多数网络连接都使用光纤布线,以最大程度地减少电磁干扰的影响。在有铜连接的地方, 硬化开关 具有IEC 61850认证的设备用于聚合连接,并为服务器或主网络交换机提供光纤上行链路。网络具有冗余设计,即使在网段出现故障时也可确保可靠的通信。 开关 支持IEC 62439媒体冗余协议和ITU-T G.8032冗余的协议,例如 过渡网的INDURA首选,因为这些冗余技术基于各种设备供应商支持的标准。

变电站网络的规模和复杂性不断增长。物理安全是这一增长的主要因素。安全摄像机,入侵检测设备和访问控制都已连接到网络。视频监视用于监视变电站的运行并提供安全监视。入侵检测设备会在发生未经授权的访问时提醒安全人员,从而提供进一步的保护。物理访问控制设备提供了监视和记录授权访问和未授权访问尝试的能力。报告这些事件的日志是NERC / CIP法规的要素之一。

所有这些设备及其提供的数据都需要连接到变电站,其他变电站和控制设施内的数据记录服务器。为此,使用了IEC 61850认证的汇聚交换机。这些交换机包含管理功能,这些功能允许按重要性顺序对网络流量进行优先级排序。可以将网络划分为多个虚拟LAN(VLAN),以分隔网络流量。可以对电源控制设备的关键网络通信进行优先级排序,以确保其具有最高的网络传输优先级。诸如记录事件之类的时间敏感性较低的流量可以降低优先级,从而为关键信息提供网络带宽。使用IEE 1588(精确时间协议)可确保所有网络通信都带有正确的时间戳,以便无论优先级如何,通信和事件都可以正确排序和记录。受管交换机包含用于优化本地变电站网络的管理功能以及变电站外围进行通信所需的安全功能。

为了更好地保护电力基础设施免受恶意活动的侵害,NERC / CIP法规要求通过状态防火墙传输所有外部变电站网络通信。与防火墙集成的第3层路由器提供了所需的安全访问。路由器/防火墙在本地变电站网络和外部广域网(WAN)之间提供了隔离。这样可以确保对变电站内设备的访问仅限于通过防火墙的授权通信。

 

概括

电力公司和它们共享的电网包含一组复杂的电源控制和通信设备。这些应用中使用的产品是关键任务设备,需要在扩展的温度下可靠地运行,并且能够承受振动,电磁干扰和功率波动。数据通信对于电网的可靠运行至关重要,需要通过限制仅授权人员访问,加密敏感数据以及提供冗余网络通信路径以确保通信交付的方式来保护数据通信。这些要求记录在IEC 61850和NERC / CIP法规等标准中。使用供应商提供的支持这些标准和法规的设备将确保电网的完整性和安全性。

 

多年来,我已经在客户安装中使用Transition Networks的产品。我一直发现他们的产品,客户服务,销售和技术支持是一流的。我什至不会考虑使用其他品牌。

IT解决方案提供商的高级项目经理

关闭

向分销商索取报价

我们的产品通过我们的全球合作伙伴网络出售。请在下面索取报价,我们的网络专家将协助报价流程,以确保您与合适的合作伙伴一起获得所需的产品和解决方案。

对于超过$2,000的大型项目,我们可以提供特别折扣价
您要处理报价的分销商或转销商的名称。要了解有关您所在地区的合作伙伴的更多信息,请查看我们的 如何购买页面

该产品已成功添加到您的报价中。

点击此处查看您的报价。

您的报价已成功创建!

点击此处查看您的报价。

编辑产品 - 编辑详细资料

您的报价还没有任何产品。

编辑产品 - 编辑详细资料

产品 数量

您的报价还没有任何产品。

您的报价请求已成功提交。

您将很快收到一封确认电子邮件,以方便报价过程。如果您想保存请求的报价, 登录 或者 创建一个帐户.

错误

处理您的报价时出错。请刷新页面,然后重试。

要求报价...
咨询专家

Transition Networks

Power Utility Substation

Market Description

The ability to provide reliable electrical power for residential and commercial use depends on an expansive infrastructure comprised of power generation facilities, transmission cables, substations, and local transformers. This infrastructure is instrumental in moving power from the generation facilities to the consumer.

Electrical Power Generation

Years ago, power generation took place in large facilities utilizing several different power generation technologies. Power generation plants were often located along major rivers to harness the power of flowing water to rotate water turbines to generate electricity. Where major rivers weren’t present, power plants used coal or natural gas to create steam to rotate steam turbines to generate electricity. Advancements in nuclear technology created power plants that used nuclear material to create steam to rotate steam turbines.

Recent developments in renewable energy sources with less impact on the environment have created a diverse array of energy producing sources including wind farms, solar farms, and even residential solar systems. While this diversity of power generation sources helps to reduce our dependency on the large power generation facilities, it has greatly impacted the power distribution infrastructure.

Electrical Power Distribution

While we have grown accustomed to stable power being available 365 days per year, 24 hours a day, the right technology is required to meet that expectation. With all the different power generation sources available today, power line balancing has become a real challenge. Power generation sources need to be coordinated so that enough power is produced to meet demand, but that a surplus is not produced. Newer power generation technologies like wind and solar provide variable amounts of power based on environmental conditions. For example, abundant energy is produced by renewable energy sources on sunny or windy days, but not as much is produced on cloudy, still days, or at night. The output from traditional predictable power generation sources now must be adjusted based on the power generated from renewable energy sources.

Once the power is in the power system, “on the grid”, the challenge becomes getting it from the generation source to the consumer. Power generation produces very high voltage power that can be transmitted over long distances. Tall power towers with high tension wires are used for this purpose. Since so much power is carried by these cables, it’s important to control the amount of power each cable carries to avoid a cable failure. Balancing the power over multiple cables to spread out the power load is essential.

Electrical Power Substations

Power substations are facilities between the power generation sources and the consumer. Substations are used to transform electrical power and balance the distribution of power to multiple locations. Substations transform the power from transmission voltages to usable voltages. Usable voltages vary depending on the application. Metal foundries, for example, require high voltages to power large metal processing furnaces. Manufacturing companies require moderate voltages to power manufacturing equipment. Residential consumers require relatively low voltage. Substations provide these voltage reductions and multiply the number of power lines to provide connections for massive numbers of customers.

Some customers require higher levels of power stability. For critical service providers like hospitals, the reliability of power is paramount. In the event of a power failure, substations can switch to an alternate power source to ensure the hospital continues to receive uninterrupted power. This requires simultaneous switching at several substations, to disconnect one power source and connect a different one.

Power substations are also used to balance the power supplied to the power grid from various power generation sources. When renewable power sources such as solar and wind are very productive, generation from variable sources like hydro, coal, and nuclear are reduced. Accomplishing this involves coordinated switching at many substations so that consumers continue to receive stable uninterrupted power. Therefore, communication between substations must be instantaneous. Communication networks of various types are used for this purpose, with IP networks gaining in popularity due to their ability to provide redundant communication paths, very fast communication speeds, alerts and notifications, and a high level of security.

 

Market Needs

The power utility industry requires networking equipment that can operate in extreme environments, provide the latest technology, and provide the reliability, event notification, and security the industry requires. Several standards have been developed specifically for the power utility industry including IEC 61850 and IEEE 1613. These standards provide the guidelines for equipment operating environments, communication standards, and security. The US government has also developed regulations to provide more uniform guidelines for the implementation of equipment and communications networks in the power utility industry. These NERC/CIP regulations are designed to increase the interoperability, reliability and security of the US power infrastructure.

 

Market Products

As needs change quickly, power utility companies are migrating towards IP networks for their communication needs. The combination of IP networks and fiber-optic technology is providing the ability to widen the communication network and monitor equipment between the substations and consumers. This ability increases the reliability of the power grid by monitoring equipment and providing predictive failure analysis.

Equipment must be able to withstand the harsh substation environment, including extreme temperatures, high levels of electromagnetic interference, power fluctuations, and in some instances vibration. The ability to communicate using fiber-optic cabling ensures immunity to electromagnetic interference and provides the communication distances required to interconnect substations and other remotely located equipment.

Utility companies require standards such as IEEE 1588 (Precision Time Protocol) and IEC 62439 (Media Redundancy Protocol). PTP provides a very accurate timestamp on communications to ensure precise sequencing of events and accurate reporting and assessment of past events. One of the elements of the NERC/CIP regulations is the ability to provide accurate records of events. MRP is standard technology used to provide redundant network connections between mission critical equipment. Since power utilities use equipment from a wide variety of vendors, non-proprietary network redundancy is essential.

 

Product Application

While the quantity and types of equipment may vary from one substation to the next, the same basic networking equipment elements are required. Some of the equipment may vary based on the power control equipment in the substation. Older equipment may have serial based data communications, whereas newer equipment will likely have a network connection.

For serial based communication equipment, a serial device server is typically chosen. Serial device servers are connected to the power control equipment using a serial cable. The serial device servers can be configured to match the serial communication protocol of the power control device. The network connection on the serial device server can be connected to a switch or server. Many utilities prefer this network connection to be a fiber-optic connection since communication can be disrupted by electromagnetic interference.

Security for these devices is also critical, so serial device servers with encryption capabilities are preferred. The encryption is needed on both the serial communication and the network communication. Some serial device servers, like Transition Networks’ SDS Series, also have the capability of communicating with more than one server simultaneously, providing redundancy in the event of a server malfunction. Serial device servers are used to automate legacy power equipment with serial interfaces. Newer equipment is being designed with network ports allowing direct connection to the local network for communication.

While some copper network connections may exist, the majority of the network connections within the substation utilize fiber-optic cabling to minimize the impact of electromagnetic interference. Where collections of copper connections exist, hardened switches with IEC 61850 certifications are used to aggregate the connections and provide a fiber-optic uplink to servers or main network switches. The networks are designed with redundancy that ensures reliable communication even when network segments have failures. Switches that support IEC 62439 Media Redundancy Protocol and ITU-T G.8032 redundancy, like the Transition Networks’ INDURA, are preferred since these redundancy technologies are based on standards supported by various equipment vendors.

Substation networks continue to grow in size and complexity. Physical security is one major factor for this growth. Security cameras, intrusion detection equipment, and access control are all being connected to the network. Video surveillance is used to monitor substation operation and provide security monitoring. Intrusion detection equipment provides further protection by alerting security personnel when unauthorized access occurs. Physical access control equipment provides the ability to monitor and record authorized access and unauthorized access attempts. Reporting a log of these events is one element of the NERC/CIP regulations.

All of this equipment and the data it provides need to be connected to data recording servers within the substation, other substations, and control facilities. Aggregation switches that are IEC 61850 certified are used for this purpose. These switches contain management features that allow the network traffic to be prioritized in the order of importance. The network can be divided into several virtual LANs (VLANs) to separate network traffic. Critical network communication for power control equipment can be prioritized to ensure it has the highest priority for network transmission. Less time sensitive traffic, like recording an event, can be prioritized lower to provide network bandwidth for critical information. The use of IEE 1588 (Precision Time Protocol) ensures that all network communication is accurately time stamped so that communications and events can be sequenced and recorded correctly regardless of their priority. Managed switches contain the management features to optimize the local substation network and security features required for communications outside the substation perimeter.

To better secure the electrical power infrastructure from malicious activity, NERC/CIP regulations call for all external substation network communication to be transmitted through a stateful firewall. Layer 3 routers, integrated with a firewall, provide the secure access required. The router/firewall provides a separation between the local substation network and external wide area networks (WANs). This ensures that access to the equipment within the substation is restricted to authorized communication through the firewall.

 

Summary

Power utilities companies and the power grid they share contain a complex collection of power control and communication equipment. The products used in these applications is mission critical equipment that needs to operate reliably in extended temperatures and be tolerant of vibration, electro-magnetic interference and power fluctuations. Data communications are crucial to the reliable operation of the power grid and need to be protected by restricting access to only authorized personnel, encrypting sensitive data, and providing redundant network communication paths to ensure communication delivery. These requirements are documented in standards like IEC 61850 and NERC/CIP regulations. Using equipment from vendors supporting these standards and regulations will ensure the integrity and security of the power grid.

 

I’ve used Transition Networks’ products in my customer installations for years. I’ve always found their products, customer service, sales, and tech support to be top-notch. I wouldn’t even consider using another brand.

Senior Project Manager at IT Solutions Provider