回到頂部

Transition Networks 由 Lantronix, Inc. 全資擁有。

Transition Networks

以太網供電概述

以太網供電可以將數據和電源傳送到以太網連接的設備,從而簡化安裝並節省大量成本。

什麼是以太網供電?

以太網供電(PoE)是一項技術,可使VoIP電話,無線接入點,監視攝像機等受電設備通過同一條以太網電纜接收電力和數據,並支持相同的100m傳輸距離。這樣就不需要單獨的交流(AC)電連接和電源線來為設備供電。

PoE減少了安裝網絡設備時必須絞合的電纜數量,從而降低了成本,減少了停機時間,提高了靈活性並簡化了維護。 PoE設備支持10/100 / 1000BaseT通信速度。

為了使PoE工作,電流以供電設備(PSE)進入以太網數據電纜,並從受電設備端(PD)流出的方式,使電源和數據通信可以共存於同一條電纜上。根據使用以太網電纜中的哪些電線為設備供電,將設備分為不同的組。模式A設備使用2對(引腳1、2、3和6)進行數據通信,並且使用相同的引腳為設備供電。模式B設備通過使用引腳1、2、3和6進行數據通信,並使用引腳4、5、7、8為設備供電來分離數據和電源。使用新的更高功率的PoE,可以通過所有四對電線發送功率。

以太網供電網段使用5類(5類)或更高額定值的以太網電纜,該電纜由四對雙絞銅線組成。諸如支持PoE的交換機或PoE注入器之類的電源設備使用電源,並且通過網絡連接到受電設備。供電設備檢測到已連接設備的存在,確定該設備是否為受電設備,然後將電流傳遞到5類電纜中。受電設備僅通過其通過以太網電纜接收的電源運行,而無需安裝單獨的電線和/或附加電源。

 

標準制定

PoE的使用標準於2003年首次採用。IEEE PoE標準要求將6類或更高級別的電纜用於高功率級別,將5e或更高級別的電纜用於中功率級別,或將3類電纜用於較低功率。水平。

IEEE 802.3af – 2003(PoE)

在設備上以48 VDC電壓提供高達15.4瓦的功率

IEEE 802.3at – 2009(PoE +)

在設備的48 V直流電源下提供高達34.2瓦的功率

IEEE 802.3bt(PoE ++)

通過使用全部4對電線,可提供高達90瓦的更高功率。

 

PoE應用

 

三種主要的PoE應用

  1. 網絡攝像機
  2. 無線接入點(WAP)
  3. IP語音電話(VoIP)

 

PoE的好處

除了節省成本外,由於在世界所有地區使用通用電源連接,PoE還具有多種優勢,包括設計靈活性,更高的可靠性和簡化的全球部署。

節約成本

PoE極大地減少了電工在整個設施中安裝導管,電線和插座的需求。即使在有電源的地方(例如在VoIP電話安裝中),使用PoE也可以消除交流電源適配器的成本。從而降低了PoE部署成本,可以提供可觀的投資回報。

設計靈活性

PoE使無線LAN設計人員在規劃接入點的位置時具有更大的靈活性,因為它們不受鄰近電源插座的限制。這也使將來的修改變得更容易且成本更低,例如重新定位接入點以微調覆蓋範圍或增加容量。

可靠性更高

就其本質而言,需要較少的電線和電源插頭的系統往往更可靠,因為發生故障或人為乾擾的可能性較小。例如,插拔電源插座的關鍵設備可能會因有人拔出插頭而將其用於其他目的(例如運行真空吸塵器或風扇)而關閉。或者,被要求重新佈線的電工可能會無意間切斷接入點的電源。 PoE通過減少可能破壞網絡運行的情況的存在來提高系統可靠性。

簡化的全球部署

如今,全球有15種不同類型的電插頭在使用,每種插頭或插座類型和電壓/頻率都有獨特的組合。全球標準意味著PoE可以使世界各地的電源傳輸都相同,而不管不同國家/地區的電源插頭和電壓變化如何。 PoE通過消除生產各種電源連接的需求而使製造商受益。

增強的運營支持

許多PoE設備使用SNMP(簡單網絡管理協議),該協議可以對提供給接入點的電源進行遠程管理。例如,在檢測到安全漏洞後,可以遠程關閉啟用PoE的接入點的電源。其他基於SNMP的功能允許監視系統的電源和功耗水平,這有助於確保有效的網絡運行。

 

概括

總之,很明顯,以太網供電是一項創新技術,它為網絡設備供電提供了更加方便,靈活和經濟高效的方法。

2003年採用的IEEE 802.3af標準的實施使世界各地的組織能夠共享一種在所有地區都通用的供電方式。

PoE Plus IEEE 802.3at標准在2009年獲得批准,增加了每個端口的可用功率。這樣就可以部署新類別的PoE設備,包括多頻帶無線訪問點,視頻電話(VoIP),具有傾斜,平移和縮放功能的電動遠程安全攝像機等。

IEEE 802.3bt標准進一步提高了可用功率。該標準的批准將PoE的用途擴展到了更廣泛的設備,包括建築物照明,瘦客戶機終端,銷售點設備和視頻會議設備。

如今,有許多支持PoE的最先進的解決方案-包括注入器,擴展器,交換機,媒體轉換器和網絡接口卡(NIC)之類的產品,可從諸如Transition Networks之類的連接集成提供商處獲得。有關Transition Networks PoE解決方案的更多信息,請訪問transition.com/poe。

 

多年來,我已經在客戶安裝中使用Transition Networks的產品。我一直發現他們的產品,客戶服務,銷售和技術支持是一流的。我什至不會考慮使用其他品牌。

IT解決方案提供商的高級項目經理

關閉

向分銷商索取報價

我們的產品通過我們的全球合作夥伴網絡出售。請在下面索取報價,我們的網絡專家將協助報價流程,以確保您與合適的合作夥伴一起獲得所需的產品和解決方案。

對於超過$2,000的大型項目,我們可以提供特別折扣價
您要處理報價的分銷商或轉銷商的名稱。要了解有關您所在地區的合作夥伴的更多信息,請查看我們的 如何購買頁面

該產品已成功添加到您的報價中。

點擊此處查看您的報價。

您的報價已成功創建!

點擊此處查看您的報價。

編輯產品 - 編輯詳細資料

您的報價還沒有任何產品。

編輯產品 - 編輯詳細資料

產品 數量

您的報價還沒有任何產品。

您的報價請求已成功提交。

您將很快收到一封確認電子郵件,以方便報價過程。如果您想保存請求的報價, 登錄 或者 創建一個帳戶.

錯誤

處理您的報價時出錯。請刷新頁面,然後重試。

要求報價...
諮詢專家

Transition Networks

Power-over-Ethernet Overview

Power-over-Ethernet enables the delivery of data and power to Ethernet connected devices for simplified installation and significant cost savings.

What is Power-over-Ethernet?

Power-over-Ethernet (PoE) is a technology that enables powered devices, such as a VoIP phone, wireless access point, surveillance cameras, etc., to receive electrical power and data over the same Ethernet cable, supporting the same 100m transmission distance. This eliminates the need for a separate alternating current (AC) electrical connection and power lines to supply power for the device.

PoE minimizes the number of cables that must be strung in order to install a network device, resulting in reduced costs, less downtime, increased flexibility, and simplified maintenance. PoE devices support 10/100/1000BaseT communication speeds.

For PoE to work, electrical current enters the Ethernet data cable at the power-sourcing equipment (PSE), and exits at the powered device end (PD) in such a way that the power and data communications can coexist on the same cable. Devices are classified into two different groups depending on which wires in the Ethernet cable are used to power the device. Mode A devices use pins 1, 2, 3, and 6 for data communications and those same pins to power the device. Mode B devices separate the data and power by using pins 1, 2, 3, and 6 for data communication and pins 4, 5, 7, 8 to power the device.

Power-over-Ethernet network segments use Category 5 (Cat 5) or higher rated Ethernet cable, which consists of four twisted pairs of copper wire. Power-sourcing equipment such as a PoE enabled switch or PoE Injector utilizes a power supply and is network connected to a powered device. The power-sourcing equipment detects the presence of a connected device, determines if the device is a powered device, and then passes electrical current into the Category 5 cable. The powered device functions solely from the power it receives through the Ethernet cable, bypassing the need for installation of separate electrical wiring and/or additional power supplies.

 

Standards Development

Standards for the use of PoE were first adopted in 2003. The IEEE standards for PoE require that Category 5 or higher cable be used for high power levels, or Category 3 cable for lower power levels.

IEEE 802.3af – 2003 (PoE)

Provides up to 15.4 Watts at 48 VDC to the device

IEEE 802.3at – 2009 (PoE+)

Provides up to 34.2 watts @ 48 V of DC power to the device

IEEE 802.3bt (PoE++ Draft)

Draft standard to provide higher wattage by utilizing all 4 pairs of wires.

 

PoE Applications

 

Three Main PoE Applications

  1. Network Cameras
  2. Wireless Access Points (WAPs)
  3. Voice-over-IP Phones (VoIPs)

 

Benefits of PoE

In addition to cost savings, PoE provides multiple benefits, including design flexibility, increased reliability, and simplified global deployment due to the use of a common power connection in all regions of the world.

Cost Savings

PoE significantly reduces the need for electricians to install conduit, electrical wiring, and outlets throughout the facility. Even where power is available, such as in VoIP phone installations, using PoE can eliminate the cost of AC power adapters. The resulting lower cost of PoE deployment can provide a significant return on investment.

Design Flexibility

PoE enables wireless LAN designers to have increased flexibility when planning out the location of access points, as they are not limited by the need for proximity to electrical outlets. This also makes it easier and less costly for future modifications, such as relocating access points for fine-tuning coverage or increasing capacity.

Increased Reliability

By their very nature, systems requiring fewer electrical cords and power plugs tend to be more reliable, because there is less chance for a malfunction or human interference. For example, critical equipment plugged into an electrical outlet could be shut down by someone unplugging it to use the outlet for other purposes, such as running a vacuum cleaner or fan. Or, an electrician called in to rewire the electrical circuits could inadvertently cut power to an access point. PoE increases system reliability, by reducing the existence of such situations that could disrupt network operations.

Simplified Global Deployment

Today, there are 15 different types of electrical plugs in use around the globe, each having a unique combination of plug or outlet types and voltage/frequencies. The global standard means that PoE enables power delivery to be the same everywhere in the world, regardless of power plug and voltage variations in different countries. PoE benefits manufacturers by eliminating the need to produce a wide range of power connections.

Enhanced Operational Support

Many PoE devices utilize the SNMP (simple network management protocol), which enables remote management of the electrical power supplied to access points. For example, the power to a PoE-enabled access point can be shut off remotely following detection of a security breach. Other SNMP-based features allow systems to be monitored for power supply and consumption levels, which helps to ensure efficient network operations.

 

Summary

In conclusion, it is clear that Power-over-Ethernet is an innovative technology that provides a more convenient, flexible and cost efficient method for powering network devices.

Implementation of the IEEE 802.3af standard adopted in 2003, enabled organizations around the world to share a method of power delivery that is common to all regions.

Ratification of the PoE Plus IEEE 802.3at standard in 2009, increased the power available to each port. This enabled deployment of new categories of PoE devices, including multi-band wireless access points, video phones (VoIP), motorized remote security cameras with tilt, pan and zoom capabilities, and more.

The IEEE 802.3bt Draft standard, in the process of review, further increases the power available. Ratification of the standard expands the utility of PoE to a wider range of devices including building lighting, thin client terminals, point of sale equipment, and video conferencing equipment.

Today, there are many state-of-the-art solutions that support PoE – including products such as: injectors, switches, media converters, and network interface cards (NICs) – that are available from connectivity integration providers like Transition Networks. For more information about Transition Networks’ PoE solutions, visit transition.com.

 

I’ve used Transition Networks’ products in my customer installations for years. I’ve always found their products, customer service, sales, and tech support to be top-notch. I wouldn’t even consider using another brand.

Senior Project Manager at IT Solutions Provider