回到頂部

Transition Networks

以太網擴展器可節省成本

數據通信需求正在迅速增長。在智能手機,平板電腦和二合一手機上,所連接的機器,可穿戴設備,移動視頻以及其他不斷增長的應用程序的數量,將推動無線通信和物聯網(IoT)應用程序成倍增長。我們的通信設備變得至關重要,企業正在採用BYOD(自帶設備)策略,給服務提供商和IT經理帶來挑戰,以使其滿足客戶對普遍覆蓋的期望,並確保足夠的容量來應對帶寬匱乏的應用程序。這些需求將需要增加更多的無線接入點,IoT網關和連接的機器,從而使有線網絡難以回傳並連接越來越多的網絡設備。服務提供商和IT經理可以選擇使用現有資產,例如RG型同軸電纜或2線電話線,而由於增加了數字安全攝像機和數字廣播而放棄了這些資產,而不用花費網絡重建或過度建設的費用。 IP電話。諸如Transition Networks提供的轉換技術使運營商可以利用現有資產,節省超過40%的時間,並縮短了服務時間。

 

傳統佈線

當我們想到以太網網絡時,CATx電纜是默認的有線網絡標準。以太網和CATx通常被認為是相互依賴的。遵循標准定義了電源以及CATx基礎架構上的以太網的傳輸。新興的創新技術使以太網和PoE設備可以通過RG型同軸電纜和2線電話線等替代基礎設施進行連接。在未開發的應用中,CATx環境更為出色。但是,在棕地中,利用現有基礎架構無疑可以節省資本投資,更重要的是可以加快服務時間。

在計劃添加新的網絡設備或發展為新技術時,必須考慮如何將它們互連到廣域網,以滿足管理,控制,計算或存儲的需求。將新的CATx電纜從核心網絡拉至設備需要執行以下步驟:

  1. 規劃電纜走線:考慮到空間,重量和拉動新電纜的能力,現有的導管是否可以支持添加新電纜?如果現有導管不足以支撐新電纜,那麼在何處以及如何部署新導管?牆壁是實心還是空心?天花板是打開還是關閉?有石棉問題嗎?
  2. 評估對邊沿切換和電源的需求:行程是否超過100m?如果是這樣,是否有空間添加邊緣交換和/或PoE注入器,以為設備提供數據網絡和電源?
  3. 購買新電纜:預算是否支持對新電纜的投資?時間表允許嗎?
  4. 拉/放新電纜:假設在計劃階段未發現一些挑戰。有記錄嗎?隨著時間的推移,環境中是否有任何未記錄的變化?所需區域是否容易接近?
  5. 測試:必須對新的電纜和連接進行測試以確保其功能。是否保持適當的彎曲半徑?將電纜拉入現有導管時,是否增加了新的壓力?連接是否正確完成?
  6. 拆除廢棄的電纜:NEC代碼要求必須拆除未使用的電纜。廢棄電纜的拆除和處置是否已計入項目成本?

除了電纜的成本外,在棕地環境中拉新電纜比使用已知的基礎架構還帶來更多的成本和風險。

 

利用替代佈線基礎設施

諸如Transition Networks替代電纜以太網解決方案之類的技術可使用現有的RG型同軸電纜或2線/電話線為邊緣設備提供以太網和電源。 Transition Networks解決方案協同工作以與以太網主幹網接口,同時通過備用媒體連接邊緣設備並提供標準的以太網和PoE。該解決方案消除了在以太網核心與邊緣設備之間使用CATx電纜的需求,同時提供了行業標準的服務。只需將Transition Networks設備連接到以太網設備和現有基礎架構,就無需進行大量規劃,購買新電纜,拉新電纜以及相關的未記錄的挑戰或無法預料的安裝風險。保守的估計表明,與使用新的電纜相比,服務提供商可以通過使用現有的基礎設施來節省大量資金,並且還可以減少服務時間。

 

使用以太網擴展器和現有電纜進行節省的示例

以下是將現有基礎架構與Transition Networks產品結合使用可以節省的示例。

客戶在建築物出口,運輸/收貨碼頭和通過RG型同軸電纜聯網的停車場中擁有現有的模擬安全攝像頭。由於質量,網絡和存儲方面的進步,客戶希望將其替換為基於IP的數碼相機。由於現有的攝像機是通過同軸電纜聯網的,因此傳統方法需要拉新的CATx電纜將攝像機連接到廣域網,以進行管理,控制和存儲。通過使用Transition Networks同軸電纜以太網解決方案,而不必拉扯新電纜,客戶便可以使用現有的RG型同軸電纜將數碼相機連接到廣域網。無需計劃新的電纜走線,無需購買新的電纜,不需要邊緣切換或註入器,也不需要廢棄的電纜來拆卸和處置。客戶節省了超過40%的費用,同時還節省了機會成本並減少了服務時間。

 

客戶申請

 

與拉新電纜相比,減少了維修時間並節省了超過40%的費用

 

 

多年來,我已經在客戶安裝中使用Transition Networks的產品。我一直發現他們的產品,客戶服務,銷售和技術支持是一流的。我什至不會考慮使用其他品牌。

IT解決方案提供商的高級項目經理

關閉

向分銷商索取報價

我們的產品通過我們的全球合作夥伴網絡出售。請在下面索取報價,我們的網絡專家將協助報價流程,以確保您與合適的合作夥伴一起獲得所需的產品和解決方案。

對於超過$2,000的大型項目,我們可以提供特別折扣價
您要處理報價的分銷商或轉銷商的名稱。要了解有關您所在地區的合作夥伴的更多信息,請查看我們的 如何購買頁面

該產品已成功添加到您的報價中。

點擊此處查看您的報價。

您的報價已成功創建!

點擊此處查看您的報價。

編輯產品 - 編輯詳細資料

您的報價還沒有任何產品。

編輯產品 - 編輯詳細資料

產品 數量

您的報價還沒有任何產品。

您的報價請求已成功提交。

您將很快收到一封確認電子郵件,以方便報價過程。如果您想保存請求的報價, 登錄 或者 創建一個帳戶.

錯誤

處理您的報價時出錯。請刷新頁面,然後重試。

要求報價...
諮詢專家

Transition Networks

Cost Savings with Ethernet Extenders Overview

Data communication demands are rapidly increasing. Wireless communications and Internet of Things (IoT) applications are expected to grow exponentially, driven by the number of connected machines, wearables, mobile video and other growing applications on smart phones, tablets and 2-in-1s. Our communication devices have become so essential that enterprises are adopting BYOD (Bring Your Own Device) policies, creating challenges for the service providers and IT managers to fulfill customer expectations for ubiquitous coverage and ensure adequate capacity for bandwidth hungry applications. These demands will necessitate the addition of more wireless access points, IoT gateways and connected machines, putting a strain on the wired network to backhaul and connect an ever increasing number of network devices. Rather than incurring the expense of a network re-build or overbuild, service providers and IT managers have new options to use existing assets such as RG-style coax or 2-wire phone line  that has been abandoned with the addition of digital security cameras and IP phones. Conversion technologies like those provided by Transition Networks enable operators to utilize existing assets, bringing savings of more than 40% and improving time to service.

 

Traditional Cabling

When we think of Ethernet networking, CATx cable is the default wired networking standard. Ethernet and CATx are often thought of as being reliant upon each other. Standards have followed to define the delivery of power along with Ethernet over CATx infrastructure. Emerging innovations have allowed for Ethernet and PoE devices to be connected via alternative infrastructures such as RG-style coax and 2-wire phone line. In greenfield applications, CATx environments are superior. In brownfields, however, utilizing the existing infrastructure certainly saves capital investment and more importantly speeds up time to service.

When planning the addition of new network devices or evolving to new technologies, considerable thought must be given to how they will interconnect to the wide-area network for management, control, computing or storage needs. Pulling new CATx cable from the core network to the device requires the following steps:

  1. Plan the cable run: Can existing conduits support the addition of new cables, considering space, weight, and the ability to pull new cable? If existing conduits are insufficient to support new cable, where and how can new conduits be deployed? Are the walls solid or hollow? Is the ceiling open or closed? Are there asbestos issues?
  2. Assess the need for edge switching and power: Do the runs exceed 100m? If so, is there space to add edge switching and/or PoE injectors to deliver data networking and power to the devices?
  3. Purchase new cable: Does the budget support an investment in new cable? Does the schedule allow it?
  4. Pull/lay the new cable: Assume there will be some challenges not discovered in the planning stage. Are the records available? Have there been any undocumented changes in the environment over time? Are the required areas easily accessible?
  5. Test: New cable and connections must be tested to ensure functionality. Has the proper bend radius been maintained? Has new stress been added when the cable was pulled into existing conduit? Have connections been done properly?
  6. Removal of abandoned cable: NEC codes require that unused cables must be removed. Has removal and disposal of abandoned cable been factored in to project costs?

Beyond just the cost of the cable, pulling new cable in a brownfield environment introduces many more costs and risks than working with a known infrastructure.

 

Utilizing Alternative Cabling Infrastructure

Technologies such as Transition Networks Ethernet-over-Alternative Cable Type solutions enable the use of existing RG-style coax or 2-wire/phone line to deliver Ethernet and power to edge devices. Transition Networks solutions work in tandem to interface with an Ethernet backbone while connecting the edge device via alternative mediums and delivering standard Ethernet and PoE. This solution eliminates the need for CATx cable between the Ethernet core and the edge device while delivering industry standard services. Simply connecting the Transition Networks devices to the Ethernet equipment and existing infrastructure eliminates the need for extensive planning, purchasing new cable, pulling new cables and the associated risks of undocumented challenges or unforeseen installation risks. Conservative estimates indicate that service providers can achieve significant savings by using existing infrastructure as opposed to running new cabling and reduce time to service as well.

 

Illustration of Savings with Use of Ethernet Extenders and Existing Cabling

Below is an example of the savings that can be achieved using existing infrastructure in conjunction with Transition Networks’ products.

The customer has existing analog security cameras at the building egress, shipping/receiving docks and parking lot networked with RG-style coax cable. Because of advancements in quality, networking and storage, the customer would like to replace the cameras with IP based digital cameras.  Since the existing cameras were networked with coax, traditional methods would require pulling new CATx cable to connect the cameras to the wide-area network for management, control and storage. By using the Transition Networks Ethernet-over-Coax solution rather than pulling new cable, the customer is able to use the existing RG-style coax cable to connect the digital cameras to the wide-area network. There is no need to plan for new cable runs, no new cable to purchase, no edge switching or injectors required, and no abandoned cable to remove and dispose. The customer achieves more than 40% savings, with additional savings in opportunity cost and reduced time to service.

 

Customer Application

 

Reduce time to service and save over 40% vs. pulling new cables

 

 

I’ve used Transition Networks’ products in my customer installations for years. I’ve always found their products, customer service, sales, and tech support to be top-notch. I wouldn’t even consider using another brand.

Senior Project Manager at IT Solutions Provider