回到頂部

Transition Networks 由 Lantronix, Inc. 全資擁有。

Transition Networks

同軸電纜以太網應用中的PoE注意事項

以太網供電(PoE)是一種有效的工具,可為需要位於當前無法供電且安裝困難或成本高昂的區域的以太網設備供電。在這種情況下,可以通過現有電纜(例如同軸電纜)供電,這可以簡化安裝,節省時間並消除新佈線或僱用電工的成本。過渡網 帶PoE +的同軸電纜以太網擴展器 將傳統的以太網轉換為可以通過75歐姆阻抗同軸電纜傳輸的信號,從而可以將模擬攝像機升級為安全和監視應用中的高質量數字IP攝像機,蜂窩回程應用中的通信設備互連以及無線設備中的無線設備互連。 WAN / LAN網絡–全部都無需更換現有的同軸電纜而付出高昂的成本。

可能會基於距離等單一因素來比較來自不同製造商的以太網擴展器。但是,需要注意的是,許多其他因素會影響PoE解決方案的總體性能,並且結果可能會有很大差異。在比較來自不同供應商的產品時,必須考慮以下因素以確定它們在整個系統中的作用:

  • 終端設備所需的功率水平
  • 所需的數據吞吐率
  • 環境工作溫度
  • 到終端設備的距離
  • 所用同軸電纜的質量

 

終端設備上的電源

為了符合IEEE 802.3af標準,PoE系統必須向終端設備提供15.4瓦的功率。為了符合IEEE 802.3at,PoE +系統必須為終端設備提供完整的30瓦功率。隨著功率必須傳播的距離增加,可用於終端設備的功率量會減少。圖1說明了過渡網絡的最大距離與功率負載之間的關係 帶PoE +的同軸電纜以太網擴展器 能夠基於標準質量的同軸電纜*進行傳輸。

*在整個文檔中,典型的75歐姆RG59U電纜的直流電阻為每1000英尺50歐姆。質量更好,電阻較小的電纜將提供更好的結果。

圖1:過渡網絡 帶PoE +的同軸電纜以太網擴展器 功率與距離性能*

 

所需數據吞吐量

類似於可用功率隨距離降低的方式,在PoE同軸電纜解決方案中可以在距離和數據吞吐量之間進行權衡。許多產品聲稱它們可以實現很長的距離,例如可達10,000英尺,但實際上只能以5 Mbps或更低的以太網速率實現這些距離。為了達到或保持快速以太網(100 Mbps)的速度,可以傳輸數據的實際距離可以減少到500英尺或更短。相反,過渡網絡 帶PoE +的同軸電纜以太網擴展器 在相似的距離處提供近千兆以太網速度。同樣重要的是,確認所引用的距離是否包括供電能力,而不僅僅是以太網流量。圖2說明了帶寬和功率過渡網絡的 帶PoE +的同軸電纜以太網擴展器 提供具有50歐姆電阻的超標準RG59U同軸電纜。使用更高質量的電纜將提供更好的結果。

圖2:過渡網絡 帶PoE +的同軸電纜以太網擴展器 以太網帶寬與距離性能

 

操作環境

接下來,操作環境的溫度也會影響可以傳遞的功率水平。位於具有極端工作溫度的環境中的系統將要求電源降額,以便可靠地在所需溫度下工作。過渡網 帶PoE +的同軸電纜以太網擴展器 電源已經降級,工作溫度為0-65°C,以確保通過IEEE 802.3at標准通過本地和遠程之間的同軸電纜距離約122米(400英尺),提供完整的PoE +電源設備和到最終受電設備的另一根100米(328英尺)CAT5電纜,總的總距離為222米(728英尺)。並非所有競爭產品都降低了電源的額定功率,以考慮溫度以及最終連接到IEEE 802.3at供電設備的電纜上的額外功率損耗。因此,它們的溫度範圍可能不准確。圖3說明了環境溫度對功率的影響。

圖3:溫度對功率的影響

在需要SFP光纖連接的應用中,必須同時考慮環境溫度以及封閉產品內的工作溫度。在環境溫度為50°C的環境中,機箱內部溫度要再升高20°C,就需要額定溫度為70°C的SFP。由於SFP溫度限制了產品工作溫度範圍的上限,因此在50°C以上的環境中, 工業SFP模塊 (額定溫度為85°C)。

 

距離

如前所述,距離本身無法考慮。與系統相關的其他因素,例如終端設備所需的功率,以太網數據的帶寬以及操作環境的溫度,將影響所達到的總距離。 Transition Networks提供了一個計算器,用於輸入特定於您的環境的變量,這將幫助您確定可以實現的最大距離,同時為終端設備提供所需的功率。

 

同軸電纜質量

對同軸電纜PoE系統上的以太網性能可能產生最關鍵影響的一個因素是所用同軸電纜的質量。可以使用各種類型的同軸電纜,其中包括不同類型的包層,電纜直徑和電纜電阻。電纜的質量越好,您的以太網同軸電纜PoE系統的效果就越好。

 

概括

總而言之,重要的是要查看系統的各個方面,以確定您是否將獲得所需的結果。在沒有確定其他組件對同軸電纜PoE系統上的整個以太網有完全影響的情況下,不要通過比較單個主張而引起誤解。為了幫助您設計同軸電纜以太網, 聯繫我們的網絡專家.

 

多年來,我已經在客戶安裝中使用Transition Networks的產品。我一直發現他們的產品,客戶服務,銷售和技術支持是一流的。我什至不會考慮使用其他品牌。

IT解決方案提供商的高級項目經理

關閉

向分銷商索取報價

我們的產品通過我們的全球合作夥伴網絡出售。請在下面索取報價,我們的網絡專家將協助報價流程,以確保您與合適的合作夥伴一起獲得所需的產品和解決方案。

對於超過$2,000的大型項目,我們可以提供特別折扣價
您要處理報價的分銷商或轉銷商的名稱。要了解有關您所在地區的合作夥伴的更多信息,請查看我們的 如何購買頁面

該產品已成功添加到您的報價中。

點擊此處查看您的報價。

您的報價已成功創建!

點擊此處查看您的報價。

編輯產品 - 編輯詳細資料

您的報價還沒有任何產品。

編輯產品 - 編輯詳細資料

產品 數量

您的報價還沒有任何產品。

您的報價請求已成功提交。

您將很快收到一封確認電子郵件,以方便報價過程。如果您想保存請求的報價, 登錄 或者 創建一個帳戶.

錯誤

處理您的報價時出錯。請刷新頁面,然後重試。

要求報價...
諮詢專家

Transition Networks

PoE Considerations in Ethernet over Coax Applications

Power-over-Ethernet (PoE) is an effective tool for powering Ethernet devices that need to be located in areas where power is not currently available and would be difficult or costly to install. In such cases, power can be provided over existing cable, such as coaxial cabling, which simplifies installation, saves time, and eliminates the cost of new wiring or hiring an electrician. Transition Networks’ Ethernet Over Coax Extender With PoE+ converts conventional Ethernet to a signal that can be carried over 75 ohm impedance coaxial cable, allowing upgrades from analog cameras to high-quality digital IP cameras in security and surveillance applications, interconnection of communication equipment in cellular backhaul applications, and interconnection of wireless equipment in WAN/LAN networks – all without the high cost of replacing the existing coax cable.

It may be tempting to compare Ethernet extenders from various manufacturers based on a single factor such as distance. However, it is important to note that many additional factors affect the total performance of a PoE solution and results can vary greatly. When comparing products from different vendors, one must consider the following factors to determine their effect throughout the entire system:

  • Power level needed at the end device
  • Desired data throughput rates
  • Operating temperature of the environment
  • Distance to the end device
  • The quality of the coax cable used

 

Power at the End Device

In order to be compliant with IEEE 802.3af standards, a PoE system must deliver 15.4 Watts of power to the end device. To be IEEE 802.3at compliant, a PoE+ system must deliver a full 30 Watts of power to the end device. As the distance the power has to travel increases, the amount of power available to the end device is reduced. Figure 1 illustrates the maximum distance versus power load that the Transition Networks’ Ethernet Over Coax Extender With PoE+ are capable of delivering, based on a standard quality coax cable*.

* Throughout this document, a typical 75 ohm RG59U cable with DC resistance of 50 ohm per 1000 feet was used to determine values. A better quality cable with less resistance will provide better results.

Figure 1: Transition Networks Ethernet Over Coax Extender With PoE+ Power versus Distance Performance*

 

Desired Data Throughput

Similar to how the available power level degrades over distance, there is also a trade-off between distance and the data throughput that can be achieved within a PoE coax solution. Many products will claim they can achieve very long distances, for instance up to 10,000 feet, but in reality may only achieve those distances at Ethernet rates of 5 Mbps or less. In order to achieve or maintain a Fast Ethernet (100 Mbps) speed, the actual distance that data can be transported may reduce to 500 feet or less. In contrast, Transition Networks Ethernet Over Coax Extender With PoE+ provides near-Gigabit Ethernet speed at similar distances. It is equally important to confirm if the distances being quoted include delivering power and not solely Ethernet traffic. Figure 2 illustrates the bandwidth and power Transition Networks’ Ethernet Over Coax Extender With PoE+ provide over standard RG59U coax with 50 ohm resistance. Using a higher quality cable will provide even better results.

Figure 2: Transition Networks Ethernet Over Coax Extender With PoE+ Ethernet Bandwidth vs Distance Performance

 

Operating Environment

Next, the temperature of the operating environment also affects the level of power that can be delivered. Systems located in environments with extreme operating temperatures will require de-rating of the power supply in order to reliably operate at the desired temperature. Transition Networks’ Ethernet Over Coax Extender With PoE+ power supplies have already been de-rated for an operating temperature of 0-65°C to ensure delivery of full PoE+ power according to IEEE 802.3at standards for distances of approximately 122 meters (400 feet) over the coaxial cable between the local and remote device and an additional 100 meters (328 feet) of CAT5 cable to the end powered device for a total combined distance of 222 meters (728 feet). Not all competitive products have de-rated their power supplies to account for temperature as well as the additional power loss over the final cable run to the IEEE 802.3at powered device. Therefore, their temperature ranges may not be accurate. Figure 3 illustrates the effect of ambient temperature on power.

Figure 3: Effect of Temperature on Power

In applications requiring SFP fiber optic connections, both the ambient temperature as well as the operating temperature within the enclosed product must also be considered. In environments with a 50°C ambient temp, an additional 20°C temp rise inside the enclosure would require an SFP rated to 70°C. Since the SFP temperature limits the upper end of the product’s operating temperature range, in environments above 50°C, industrial SFP modules (rated to 85°C) are required.

 

Distance

As previously illustrated, distance cannot be considered by itself. Other factors related to the system, such as power required to the end device, bandwidth of the Ethernet data, and temperature of the operating environment, will impact the total distance achieved. Transition Networks offers a calculator to input variables specific to your environment, which will help you determine the maximum distance that can be achieved while providing the desired power for your end device.

 

Coaxial Cable Quality

A factor that has perhaps the most critical impact on the performance of your Ethernet over Coax PoE system is the quality of the coaxial cable used. Various types of coax cable are available—with different types of cladding, diameter of the cable, and resistance of the cable to name a few. The better the quality of the cable, the better your Ethernet over Coax PoE system results will be.

 

Summary

In summary, it is important to look at all aspects of your system to determine if you will achieve the desired results. Don’t be misled by comparing a single claim without determining other components’ full effect on your total Ethernet over Coax PoE system. For assistance with design of your Ethernet over Coax system, contact our network experts.

 

I’ve used Transition Networks’ products in my customer installations for years. I’ve always found their products, customer service, sales, and tech support to be top-notch. I wouldn’t even consider using another brand.

Senior Project Manager at IT Solutions Provider