回到頂部

Transition Networks 由 Lantronix, Inc. 全資擁有。

Transition Networks

利用媒體轉換發展數據中心網絡的7個最佳實踐白皮書

任何基礎 數據中心網絡 是物理層;連接用戶,服務器,存儲設備和物聯網時代的光纜和銅纜。這些網絡上不斷增長的需求要求數據中心不斷升級網絡的大小,覆蓋範圍和吞吐量水平,這意味著需要將網絡設備頻繁升級到最新的以太網標準。

虛擬化,大數據,雲訪問和移動性等關鍵趨勢是對帶寬需求增長的背後。網絡行業已經對更多的以太網變化做出了回應,包括針對2.5 GbE,5 GbE,10 GbE,25 GbE 40 GbE,50 GbE,100GbE甚至400GbE的新標准或新興標準。

在這種快速變化的情況下,媒體轉換比以往任何時候都更加重要,以確保連通性,快速啟動服務並最大程度地提高電纜廠投資。

最終需要數據中心運營商具有簡化基礎架構的能力,同時適應帶寬的增長。媒體轉換技術起著關鍵作用,但必須正確實施才能促進網絡連接,而又不影響網絡管理或數據安全性。

多年來,媒體轉換產品不斷發展以幫助滿足這些需求。從獨立的,非託管的,固定配置的媒體轉換器的早期發展開始,該行業現在提供基於機架的媒體轉換系統,該系統提供了佈線的中心點,可以接受任何網絡接口的小型可插拔(SFP)端口,並且通過警報和Web訪問進行安全管理。

媒體轉換是關鍵的網絡系統,但是太多的購買決策完全基於數據表信息,或更糟糕的是,來自價格表。媒體轉換器和計劃和實施它們的戰略方法有所不同。以下7種最佳實踐提供了速度之外的一瞥,並提供了添加或擴展媒體轉換系統時要考慮的其他關鍵因素。

 

1 –最佳實踐:在物理層轉換網絡類型

在多租戶電信或企業數據中心中,重要的是在“會議”房間或數據中心其他區域(作為WAN / MAN連接與鏈接之間的分界點)的第1層上轉換數據。客戶的設備籠。

在網絡的這一點上使用第2/3層交換機可能會導致數據混合,並有可能被其他客戶截獲數據。另外,此時交換所涉及的數據包處理可能會給連接增加幾微秒的等待時間。許多應用程序(特別是金融機構使用的應用程序)對延遲敏感。

將交換機替換為基於機箱的媒體轉換器系統,可以保持與客戶服務器的直接鏈接,同時還可以大大減少媒體轉換期間的延遲。媒體轉換可以在網絡鏈路的任何一點上執行,這使數據中心管理人員即使在數據速率和網絡距離增加的情況下,也可以更好地利用長達100米的現有銅纜網絡。這允許企業僅在絕對必要的情況下安裝光纖佈線,以最大程度地降低光纖網絡的成本。

 

2 –最佳實踐:利用配備OTDR的SFP來檢測光纖中斷

光纖中斷是管理光纖網絡所需成本和人力的重要組成部分。找到斷開點意味著在整個網絡中一直跟踪電纜。這可能會成為緊急情況,因為在許多情況下,光纖中斷會減少用於數據通信的可用帶寬,而且更糟糕的是,這可能表明網絡已被竊聽,並且數據已進入未經授權的第三方的手中。

光學時域反射儀(OTDR)技術將一系列光脈衝注入光纖網絡,並讀取從網絡返回的光。它可以讀取從一個點或沿著光纖的點散射或反射回來的光。然後,OTDR儀器可以分析這些反射,以了解電纜阻抗的變化,並對其進行分析以確定電纜斷裂的位置。

當檢測到問題時,可以將手持式OTDR儀器插入電纜,但是對於當今的10Gbps或40Gbps網絡,檢測和修復中斷至關重要。為了滿足這些需求,已經開發了新一代的基於SFP的“智能”媒體轉換器來提供這種OTDR功能。當檢測到斷點時,網絡管理器可以遠程啟動OTDR功能以快速檢測電纜斷點的位置。

 

3 –最佳做法:確保管理數據的安全

關於數據完整性的另一種最佳實踐是評估網絡管理數據的安全性。對管理數據的訪問在不損害數據本身完整性的同時,允許黑客更改配置並可能重定向數據流。當然,保護管理數據的很大一部分在於確保網絡的物理安全性。對網絡管理控制台的訪問受到限制。

但是管理系統本身也必須提供安全性。第一步是確保系統訪問受到密碼的限制,並在必要時確保對訪問進行記錄並可以進行調查。該身份驗證必須擴展到所有訪問方法,包括遠程Web或telnet登錄。

安全管理系統的下一個重要部分是在傳輸過程中保護數據。管理系統應在所有管理連接上尋求對安全套接字層(SSL)或安全外殼(SSH&TLS)加密的支持。與大多數加密方案一樣,SSL連接是通過交換公鑰和私鑰來保護的。 SSH的工作原理類似,但是它兩次加密數據,要求黑客在訪問基礎數據之前先破解兩個128位代碼。要尋找的其他安全管理工具可能包括管理VLAN,對802.1x / RADIUS的支持以及ACL規則。

 

4 –最佳實踐:為數據中心的物理安全性創建單獨的網絡

媒體轉換器的一種流行用途是將網絡連接擴展到監視攝像機所在的位置。例如,外部攝像機可以位於天花板上或外部燈桿上,該攝像機距離與其連接的網絡交換機相距100多米。

通過添加媒體轉換器,可以在光纖電纜或另一根銅纜鏈接到攝像機的同時保留現有的銅纜網絡佈線。如果媒體轉換器提供重新定時,則信號可以再傳播100米以鏈接到攝像機。通過網絡連接的證章讀取器,門鎖和其他非IT系統,整個數據中心都面臨著同樣的挑戰。隨著越來越多的設備被添加到物聯網,這些設備中的一部分將連接到有線網絡,並且將面臨同樣的挑戰。

儘管可能想將相同的基於機箱的媒體轉換系統用於數據中心信息和物理安全網絡,但最佳實踐是將它們盡可能地分開。原因之一是來自監視攝像機的視頻會佔用大量帶寬,從而減慢了網絡上的其他數據。

這種網絡分離還提高了數據完整性,因為與攝像機的連接通常不在數據中心的物理安全範圍之內,從而為黑客提供了潛在的攻擊載體。

 

5 –最佳做法:根據正常運行時間(而非初始價格)做出購買決定

獲得具有成本效益的媒體轉換系統非常重要。但是,考慮到產品的使用壽命,購買受管理的優質產品的成本要便宜得多,因為它們將提供更長的無故障運行時間。解決一個故障所需的時間和金錢可以消滅通過購買最低價格單位而節省的任何資金。

選擇具有最佳正常運行時間的產品時要考慮的事項:

  • 質量等級:各種公司都提供質量等級,以衡量產品開箱即用的方式以及產品隨著時間的推移如何持續使用。這是衡量正常運行時間的很好的代理,因此,請尋找質量等級為99.5%的產品。
  • 網絡管理工具應提供使IT管理員了解影響正常運行時間的網絡狀況所需的信息。包計數是一項關鍵功能,注意到包計數的變化可以洞悉數據丟失,網絡擁塞和廣播風暴。光纖發射器上的DMI統計信息還可以提供有關光纖端口的有價值的信息,可以提前通知即將發生的端口故障,鏈路斷開或需要注意的可捕獲情況。
  • 對於光纖網絡,在激光器上具有診斷管理信息至關重要。此信息可以顯示發送功能的強大程度以及接收器的靈敏度。監視這些統計信息可對任何激光問題提供早期警告。
  • 另一個可能更柔和的指標是該公司在該行業的歷史。任期長通常表示客戶滿意的歷史。滿意的客戶通常表示公司的專業知識,解決問題的能力,優質的產品和可靠的服務。選擇一個具有長壽和久經考驗的專業知識的解決方案提供商,以在利用現有基礎架構的同時提高網絡性能。
  • 如果出現問題,請務必盡快修復。尋找受過訓練的工程師提供24×7的客戶支持,作為購買的前提條件。

考慮您的媒體轉換器系統的運營成本將有助於獲得一個可以優化總運營成本(TCO)的系統。

 

6 –最佳實踐:建立一致且可重複的電纜基礎結構

建立佈線系統可能是一項複雜而令人困惑的工作,尤其是對於當今數據中心連接的規模而言。開發並促進標準,可重複和一致的基礎結構以提供最佳性能和可管理性非常重要。

這需要平衡成本和銅纜佈線的距離限制。一種解決方案是實施全光纖網絡,但是這樣做的代價卻被認為是過高的。由於數據中心必須支持最廣泛的網絡類型(以太網,以及T1,DS3,POTS等),因此它在某種程度上也受到限制。並非所有這些協議都定義了用於通過光纖電纜傳輸數據的標準。

對於大多數數據中心,正確的方法是在可能的情況下使用銅纜,並在必要時利用媒體轉換來引入光纖佈線。通過構建結構化的佈線系統,可以迅速,快速地開通服務,更快地開始計費並以更全面,一致的方式管理客戶,變得異常容易。這種方法可以使網絡具有更大的靈活性和可擴展性,從而使數據中心運營商能夠經濟高效地在整個園區內移動多種電路,達到遠距離和跨網絡基礎設施,同時仍能實現高安全性。

 

7 –最佳實踐:對OAM協議的支持

對於需要服務水平協議的任何應用程序,請尋求支持操作,管理和維護(OAM)協議的媒體轉換解決方案。 OAM協議來自電信級設備,但是由於對數據中心網絡內的服務水平協議有需求,因此它們無疑是一項重要的要求。

OAM檢查來自每個以太網數據包的數據鏈路層的信息,以深入了解鏈路發現,鏈路監視,遠程故障檢測和遠程環回。網絡管理使用此數據來驗證連接性,檢測故障和監視性能。還可以設置性能閾值,以在性能下降到預定水平以下時觸發警報。

補充OAM標準的關鍵協議是Y.1731,該協議已由ITU電信標準(ITU-T)部分進行了標準化,並由城域以太網論壇進行了其他解釋工作。

這些最佳實踐,再加上使用正確的網絡技術設計的產品,可以使正確的戰略性媒體轉換決策變得更加容易。有關更多信息 媒體轉換器 以及如何選擇最佳解決方案,請訪問 Transition Networks網站.

 

多年來,我已經在客戶安裝中使用Transition Networks的產品。我一直發現他們的產品,客戶服務,銷售和技術支持是一流的。我什至不會考慮使用其他品牌。

IT解決方案提供商的高級項目經理

關閉

向分銷商索取報價

我們的產品通過我們的全球合作夥伴網絡出售。請在下面索取報價,我們的網絡專家將協助報價流程,以確保您與合適的合作夥伴一起獲得所需的產品和解決方案。

對於超過$2,000的大型項目,我們可以提供特別折扣價
您要處理報價的分銷商或轉銷商的名稱。要了解有關您所在地區的合作夥伴的更多信息,請查看我們的 如何購買頁面

該產品已成功添加到您的報價中。

點擊此處查看您的報價。

您的報價已成功創建!

點擊此處查看您的報價。

編輯產品 - 編輯詳細資料

您的報價還沒有任何產品。

編輯產品 - 編輯詳細資料

產品 數量

您的報價還沒有任何產品。

您的報價請求已成功提交。

您將很快收到一封確認電子郵件,以方便報價過程。如果您想保存請求的報價, 登錄 或者 創建一個帳戶.

錯誤

處理您的報價時出錯。請刷新頁面,然後重試。

要求報價...
諮詢專家

Transition Networks

7 Best Practices for Evolving Data Center Networks Utilizing Media Conversion White Paper

The foundation of any data center network is the physical layer; the fiber and copper cables that connect users, servers, storage and, in the era of the Internet of Things, things. The always increasing demand on these networks requires data centers to constantly upgrade network size, reach, and throughput levels, which means frequently upgrading network equipment to the latest Ethernet standard.

Key trends such as virtualization, big data, cloud access and mobility are behind the increase in demand for bandwidth. And the network industry has responded with even more Ethernet variations, including new or emerging standards for 2.5 GbE, 5 GbE, 10 GbE, 25 GbE 40 GbE, 50 GbE, 100GbE and even 400GbE.

In this scenario of rapid change, media conversion is more important than ever to ensure connectivity, rapid service turn up and to maximize the cable plant investment.

The ultimate need is for data center operators to have the ability to simplify infrastructure while accommodating bandwidth growth. Media conversion technology plays a key role, but must be implemented correctly in order to facilitate network connectivity without impacting network management or data security.

Media conversion products have evolved over the years to help support these needs. From the early days of stand-alone, unmanaged, fixed configuration media converters, the industry now offers chassis-based media conversion systems that provide a central point of wiring, small form factor pluggable (SFP) ports that can accept any network interface, and secure management with alarms and web access.

Media conversion is a critical network system, but too many purchase decisions are based solely on data sheet information or worse yet, from price lists. There is a difference in media converters and a strategic way to plan and implement them. The following 7 best practices provide a glimpse beyond the speeds and feeds to other key factors to consider when adding or expanding a media conversion system.

 

1 – Best Practice: Convert Network Types at Physical Layer

In both multi-tenant telco or enterprise data centers, it’s important to convert data at Layer 1 at the “meet-me” room or other area in the data center that serves as the demarcation point between WAN/MAN connections and the link to a customer’s equipment cage.

Using a Layer 2/3 switch at this point in the network could lead to data co-mingling and potential for data to be intercepted by other customers. In addition, the packet processing involved in switching at this point can add up to several microseconds of latency to the connection. Many applications, especially those used by financial institutions, are latency sensitive.

Replacing the switch with a chassis-based media converter system maintains the direct link to the customer’s servers while also dramatically reducing latency during the media conversion. Media conversion can be executed at any point in the network link, which enables data center managers to better leverage existing copper networks up to the full 100 meters even when data rates and network distances increase. This allows enterprises to install fiber-optic cabling only where absolutely necessary, in order to minimize the cost of the fiber network.

 

2 – Best Practice: Leverage OTDR-equipped SFPs to Detect Fiber Breaks

Fiber breaks are a significant component of the cost and manpower required to manage a fiber-optic network. Finding the break means tracing the cable all the way through the network. This can become an urgent situation because in many cases a fiber break reduces available bandwidth for data communications and, worse yet, could indicate that the network has been tapped and that data is getting into the hands of unauthorized third parties

Optical time-domain reflectometer (OTDR) technology injects a series of optical pulses into the fiber optic network and also reads the light coming back from the network. It either reads the light that is scattered or reflected back from a point, or points along the fiber. The OTDR instrument can then analyze these reflections to understand the change in the impedance of the cable which is analyzed to determine the location of the cable break.

Handheld OTDR instruments are available to be plugged into a cable when a problem is detected, but with today’s 10Gbps or 40Gbps networks, detecting and fixing the break is time critical. To meet these needs, a new generation of “smart” SFP-based media converters has been developed to provide this OTDR capability. When a break is detected, the network manager can remotely initiate the OTDR functionality to rapidly detect the location of the cable break.

 

3 – Best Practice: Keep Management Data Secure

Another best practice, when it comes to data integrity, is to evaluate the security of network management data. Access to management data, while not compromising the integrity of the data itself, allows hackers to change configurations and potentially redirect data flows. Certainly a big part of protecting management data lies in ensuring that the network is physically secure; that access to network management consoles are restricted.

But the management system itself must also provide security. The first step is to ensure that system access is restricted by passwords and that access is recorded and available for investigation if necessary. This authentication must extend to all methods of access including remote web or telnet log-ins.

The next big part of a secure management system is protecting the data while in transit. Management systems should look for support of secure sockets layer (SSL) or secure shell (SSH & TLS) encryption on all management connections. Like most encryption schemes, an SSL connection is secured through the exchange of public and private keys. SSH works similarly but it encrypts the data twice requiring hackers to break two 128-bit codes before gaining access to the underlying data. Other secure management tools to look for could include a Management VLAN, support for 802.1x/RADIUS, and ACL Rules.

 

4 – Best Practice: Create a Separate Network for Physical Security of Data Center

One popular use of media converters is to extend network connections out to where a surveillance camera is located. For example, an exterior camera can be located in the ceiling or on an exterior light pole that is more than 100 meters from the network switch it connects to.

By adding a media converter, the existing copper network cabling can be left in place while a fiber cable or another copper cable links to the camera. If the media converter offers retiming, the signal can travel another 100 meters to link to the camera. This challenge is repeated throughout the data center with network-connected badge readers, door locks and other non- IT systems. As more devices are added to the Internet of Things, a percentage of these will be connected to the wired network and will have the same challenges.

While it might be tempting to leverage the same chassis-based media conversion system for both data center information and physical security networks, the best practice is to keep these as separate as possible. One reason for this, is that video from surveillance cameras can consume a lot of bandwidth, slowing other data on the network.

This network separation also improves data integrity since connections to cameras are often outside of the data center’s physical security, providing a potential attack vector for hackers.

 

5 – Best Practice: Make Purchase Decisions Based on Uptime Not Initial Price

It’s important to get a cost effective media conversion system. But when taking the longevity of the products into consideration, it’s much less expensive to purchase quality products that are managed because they will provide longer, problem-free operation. The time and money required to fix one failure can wipe out any savings made by buying the lowest price unit.

Things to consider when selecting a product with the best uptime:

  • Quality rating: various firms offer quality ratings which measure how a product works out of the box and how it lasts over time. This is a good proxy for measuring uptime, so look for products in the 99.5% quality rating range.
  • Network management tools should provide the information needed to make the IT administrators aware of network conditions that impact uptime. One key feature is packet counting, noticing changes in packet count can provide insight into data loss, network congestions, and broadcast storms. DMI statistics on the fiber transmitters can also provide valuable information on your fiber ports, providing advanced notice of a pending port failure, a link going down, or a trappable condition that needs attention.
  • For fiber-optic networks, having diagnostic management information on the lasers is essential. This information can show how strong the transmit function is as well as the sensitivity of the receiver. Monitoring these statistics provides early warning of any laser problems.
  • Another, perhaps softer, indicator is the company’s history in the industry. A long tenure typically indicates a history of happy customers. Happy customers typically signify a company’s expertise, ability to solve problems, quality products and reliable service. Select a solution provider with longevity and the proven expertise to improve network performance while leveraging existing infrastructure.
  • When something does go wrong, it’s important to fix it as soon as possible. Look for 24×7 customer support from trained engineers as a prerequisite for your purchase.

Considering the operating costs of your media converter system will help in acquiring a system that optimizes the total cost of operation (TCO).

 

6 – Best Practice: Build a Consistent and Repeatable Cable Infrastructure

Building out a cabling system can be a complicated and confusing undertaking especially with the magnitude of today’s data center connectivity. It’s important to develop and facilitate a standard, repeatable and consistent infrastructure in order to deliver the best performance and manageability.

This requires balancing cost and the distance limitations of copper cabling. One solution is to implement an all-fiber network, but the expense of this could be viewed as prohibitive. It’s also somewhat restrictive as data centers must support the widest range of network types (Ethernet, and also T1, DS3, POTS, among others). Not all of these protocols define standards for transmitting data over fiber-optic cabling.

For most data centers, the right approach is to use copper where possible and leverage media conversion to introduce fiber-optic cabling where necessary. By building a structured cabling system, it becomes dramatically easier to turn up services quickly, begin billing sooner and manage the customer in a more comprehensive, consistent manner. This approach results in networks with more flexibility and scalability, allowing data center operators to cost effectively move many kinds of circuits around an entire campus, reaching long distances and across a network infrastructure, all while still achieving the high security.

 

7 – Best Practice: Support for OAM Protocols

For any application that requires service level agreements, seek a media conversion solution that supports operations, administration and maintenance (OAM) protocols. OAM protocols come from telco class equipment, but with the demand for service level agreements within data center networks, they are certainly an important requirement.

OAM examines information from the data link layer of each Ethernet packet to provide insight into link discovery, link monitoring, remote fault detection and remote loopback. This data is used by network management to verify connectivity, detect faults and monitor performance. Performance thresholds can also be set to trigger alarms when performance drops below a predetermined level.

The key protocol to compliment OAM standards is Y.1731, which has been standardized by the ITU Telecommunications Standards (ITU-T) section with additional interpretations work conducted by the Metro Ethernet Forum.

These best practices, combined with products that are designed with the right network technology, can make the correct and strategic media conversion decision a lot easier. For more information on media converters and how to pick the best solution, visit the Transition Networks’ website.

 

I’ve used Transition Networks’ products in my customer installations for years. I’ve always found their products, customer service, sales, and tech support to be top-notch. I wouldn’t even consider using another brand.

Senior Project Manager at IT Solutions Provider